Friday, December 14, 2018

Becca St. John’s SUMMERTON – Wonderfully Complex Mystery and Fabulous Love Story


This Regency (no date given) was my first book by St. John and I loved it. She writes with a smooth fluidity that captured me from the beginning. Lots of atmosphere surrounds the mystery with twists and turns aplenty.

The characters came alive on the page. The Duke of Summerton is a gallant man, one worthy of any woman’s love. And his match, Caroline Howlett, a wealthy commoner from Manchester, was enchanting. She had loved him as a girl; he didn’t know she existed.

He married her for her money, or that’s at least what she believed. She only married him because she was forced to do so by her uncle. In the match, the Duke of Summerton would be able to restore his family estate and Caroline would gain a title. But she cares nothing for that. She only wants to return to Manchester to see to her family’s mills.

Caroline is attempting to run away when murder suddenly arrives. First her maid is found in the woods, strangled. And it seems that Caroline is the real target. Can Summerton protect her. And will they both find love in the process? Indeed, they shall. And Summerton’s Aunt Eleanor is a Regency detective with skills!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, did not want it to end. Highly recommended.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Heather Graham’s A PIRATE’S PLEASURE: Powerful pirate love story with a Wonderful Hero & Heroine!

Set in 18th century America (Virginia) and the Caribbean, this story captivated me from page one. It tells of Lady Skye Kinsdale whose father has ordered her home to Virginia to marry a man to whom she’s been promised since birth—a man she's never met. She's coming home aboard her father's ship from England where she has been at a finishing school. Before she leaves England, and unknown to her, her father has her wed by proxy to the man, Roc, Lord Cameron.

On the way to Virginia, Skye’s ship is seized by the pirate One Eyed Jack, a ruthless killer. But before he can have her, another pirate, the Silver Hawk, retakes both vessels and holds Skye captive. 

Skye, who was trained to use a sword by the finest swordsman in Europe, can hold her own against the pirates, and does. The Silver Hawk ("Hawk") admires her courage...and her golden beauty. But Hawk confuses Skye. On the one hand he is ruthless, rough and domineering and on the other he is gentle and honorable and holds her through her nightmares (she fears darkness).

Unaware she's been wed to Lord Cameron, Skye finds herself attracted to "the pirate scum" (her words). And so the adventure begins...and it is a real adventure. A keeper!

The plot is intricate and has a major twist I did not see coming. I could not put it down and it kept me up reading late at night. Once it was finished, I had to read it again. Graham's writing is superb. The story pulls you in and does not let you go. There are no slow spots as the action and the characters become very real. The sexual tension permeates the book and is quite believable.

 Roc is one of my all time favorite heroes.

This pirate story introduced me to a wonderful trilogy (The North American Women) that is a part of the Cameron Saga (see full list below). I recommend reading them in order though they can also be read as “stand alone” novels.

The six books in the Cameron Saga:

The North American Women trilogy:

Sweet Savage Eden
A Pirate's Pleasure
Love Not a Rebel

The Camerons in the Civil War trilogy:

One Wore Blue
And One Wore Gray
And One Rode West

Monday, December 10, 2018

Nora Roberts’ REBELLION – Superb Storytelling of the Rising of 1745 and a Love That Would Not be Denied – A Keeper!

It begins in 1735 when Serena MacGregor’s home in the Highlands is invaded by British dragoons and her mother is raped by their leader who wants to shame a Highland’s chief’s wife. And that night hatred for the English was born in Serena. Ten years later, in 1745, her brother Coll brings home his friend, Brigham Langston, whose mother might have been a MacDonald but he is English.

Serena means to hate Brigham but ends up falling in love. Brigham wants the fiery tempered lass and means to have her. But there is a matter of the Jacobite Rising of 1745 that will interfere. I loved these two characters.

It’s a time of rebellion in the Highlands as the Scots, sick of English oppression, long for their Bonnie Prince Charlie, their “king across the waters” to return and reclaim his throne. The Germans may reign in England but the Scots want their true king restored.

When I read about the Battle of Culloden that took place in 1746 and see the images that represent that fateful day, I am always deeply saddened. Not just for the battle that was lost or the thousands of Scots slain, but for the cruelty of England inflicted thereafter on a generation of Highlanders. The English destroyed a way of life.

Roberts brings this time in Scotland’s history to life with superb storytelling, wonderful characters and brilliant dialog. Rich in historical detail and passion-filled love, this is a keeper. I fell in love with Brigham whose heart beat to the Highlands though he was an English lord. And I cheered on Serena as she finally decided to claim the man her own heart could not deny.

First published in 1988, this is the story of the historical roots for Roberts’ contemporary MacGregor series. I am so sorry she gave us only two historical romance novels before moving on to other genres as her historicals are very, very good.

Friday, December 7, 2018

Erica Ridley’s THE VISCOUNT’S CHRISTMAS TEMPTATION – Amazing Heroine in a Delightful Christmas Tale


Set in London in 1815, this is the story of Lady Amelia Pembroke, a very organized woman of 29 who decides she must marry to allow her brother, the Duke of Ravenwood, to take a wife who can manage his house without her interference. When Amelia learns Viscount Sheffield is canceling his Christmas ball, she determines it must go on for that is where she intends to find a husband. So, she sets out to bend Lord Sheffield to her will.

I loved the heroine. She’s clever and knows her own mind. Her antics will have you laughing. Lord Sheffield never stood a chance. And when he realizes how amazing she is, he means to have her.

A worthy Christmas novella. It would have been even better as a longer story.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Christina Skye’s THE BLACK ROSE – Exciting Story of Love Among the Smugglers of Rye with Pirates, Sea Captains and a Wonderful Heroine

Set in 1810, this exciting story is rich in history of the Napoleonic era and the smugglers that made Rye, England famous. It’s also the story of Tess Leighton, impoverished by her father’s debts, who becomes the leader of the Rye smugglers to feed the people and take care of her ancestral home, which is falling down around her.

By night, she runs a dangerous game, one step ahead of the government agents who seek the death of the one called “the Romney Fox”, a smuggler whose calling card is a black rose. In her sleep Tess suffers nightmares from the time her father locked her in the cellars and spiders crawled over her.

After crucial military secrets are discovered being sent to Napoleon, London Viscount Ravenhurst, a hero of Trafalgar, is dispatched to catch the spy. Ravenhurst and Tess have a history: once they were in love. Each felt betrayed by the other and now they are enemies. Worse, he believes she is involved in sending English gold to France, prolonging the war. But neither can deny the passion that still sizzles between them.

He takes her innocence when she is drugged but vows to wed her. She will have nothing to do with him.

Then Tess is betrayed and finds herself the captive of Andre Le Brix, a notorious smuggler pirate, who would claim her as his own. In his arms, she finds the love and peace she seeks.

A very exciting, well-written story of the adventure swirling around the beautiful Tess.
Yes, it’s a bodice ripper and I promise it will keep you turning pages. Great dialog, wonderful characters, a very courageous heroine. What’s not to love? It’s a keeper.

Note: I understand the author has revised and re-released this as Seven Nights with a Pirate. Some reviews say it’s not as good as the original, which is the one I read. I cannot judge the new one, but I loved this original.

The Dangerous Heroes series:

The Black Rose
East of Forever
The Tiger’s Lady

Monday, December 3, 2018

Elizabeth DeLancey’s TOUCH OF LACE – Great Love Story Among the Irish in America and a Wonderful Heroine

Set in 1858, this is the story of Stephen Flynn, a hardened Irish boxer, a champion in America, who goes to Ireland to bring his son, Rory, back to New York. His brother-in-law, who was keeping the boy, also wants Stephen to run guns to Ireland’s rebels seeking their freedom. He agrees to help, but wants little to do with rebellion. And he no longer wants to fight. However, others conspire to keep him involved in both.

On the return voyage, his young son Rory introduces Stephen to Anna Massie, a talented but poor Irish lace maker. She is traveling in steerage with the other emigrants and he is in first class. Rory befriends her and brings her food. When one of the deckhands tries to rape her, she kills him. She is a red-haired beauty and the captain thinks to have her for himself, but Stephen rescues her and in an impulsive moment, decides to wed her. And the adventure has only begun.

What a great story! And so well told. There are many twists and turns, too. I loved high-spirited Anna who had suffered so much at the hands of men and yet still wants to be her own woman, a gifted lace maker. I pictured her as Maureen O’Hara. Stephen had loved only one woman, he beloved wife, Rose, a “good woman”, and then he married despoiled Anna, a “bad woman”. But he admires her courage and can’t help loving her.

Delancey has done her homework on the plight of the Irish in America, which makes her story all the more genuine. The daily life of Anna and Stephen in the Bowery and the boys they are raising with Stephen’s son kept me turning pages. I loved this story.

As far as I can tell, this author only wrote three books. I have since ordered another. Here’s the list:

Sea of Dreams
Touch of Lace
Meant to Be

Saturday, December 1, 2018

Shirl Henke’s BROKEN VOWS – Superb Storytelling and an Irish Hunk to Love!

December is the month where I share my favorite heroes and heroines from the romance novels on my best lists. I’m starting with a great Western romance by gifted storyteller Shirl Henke.

Set in Nevada in the late 19th century (beginning in 1870) during the silver boom on the Comstock Lode, Henke delivers a superb tale of young love, prejudice (against the Irish among others), deception, treachery and love’s second chances. I highly recommend it.

Rebekah Sinclair, a small town preacher’s daughter, and Rory Madigan, an impoverished Irish immigrant who worked his way West as a prizefighter, meet and quickly fall in love. In a night of passion, they vow to love each other forever and Rory asks Rebekah to marry him assuring her he will find a way to make enough money to win her parents’ respect. However, an evil rich man who wants Rebekah on his arm as he rises in politics conspires to keep Rory from her; his efforts are aided by the bigotry of Rebekah’s family. As a result Rory and Rebekah are separated, each believing they were betrayed by the other. Rory and Rebekah meet again years later when Rory is rich and influential and bent on revenge. But true love will have its day….

I know I’m reading a 5 star novel when I cannot put it down and my emotions are truly engaged. In this case, I also ended up reading it through much of the night, it was that good. Her wonderful characters are richly drawn and her plot weaves an intriguing story.

Henke gives us a taste of the West when it was still wild enough that murder and corruption went without retribution, when powerful men used others for their own greed and lust. Then, too, living in America now, we forget the Irish were not just persecuted by the English in Ireland; they were persecuted here as well. Though Rebekah was poor, her family would never consider an Irish Catholic an acceptable husband, no matter how much she loved him. Thank God it’s a romance and all comes right in the end.

You won’t regret getting this one!

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Victoria Holt’s THE TIME OF THE HUNTER'S MOON – Engaging Victorian Romance with a Mystery


This is the story of Cordelia Grant, raised by her beloved Aunt Patty when her missionary parents died in Africa. Aunt Patty was a joy to live with. She ran a school for girls that Cordelia was educated to one day take over. But events led to another route and Cordelia ends up teaching at a different school.

According to legend, a girl will see her future husband at the time of the hunter's moon. When she was still in Germany where she had gone to a school to be “finished”, Cordelia meets a handsome stranger who told her he was Edward Compton. She later learns that the young man of that name died 20 years ago.

Meanwhile, while teaching at the new school, she meets the landlord, Sir Jason Verringer, a wealthy, compelling man about whom swirl rumors of his having murdered his wife. And he wants Cordelia for his next wife.

Holt does a wonderful job of bringing Cordelia’s world to life. Told in the first person, we are only ever in Cordelia’s head so we feel her emotions. She is a wise young woman, discerning others’ intent. She deals well with her students and the determined Sir Jason though she finds him intriguing. As always with Holt’s stories, there is mystery. Whatever happened to Edward, the man to whom she was drawn like no other?

If you like Victoria Holt, you’ll enjoy this one.

Monday, November 26, 2018

Best Victorian Romances!


This is a fairly new list, hence it is shorter than my others. It features romances set in the Victorian era, generally from 1837 (the year Victoria became Queen) to 1901 (the year of her death). The common perception of the period is that the Victorians were “prudish, hypocritical, stuffy and narrow-minded”.  But these perceptions are not always accurate, particularly when the British characters were traveling and learning much about other cultures, as you will see in these romances. All of those listed here have been rated 4 or 5 stars by me:

A Lady’s Lesson in Scandal by Meredith Duran
Beauty and the Spymaster by Moriah Densley (novella)
Bound by Your Touch by Meredith Duran
Bride of Pendorric by Victoria Holt
From Fields of Gold by Alexandra Ripley
Fool Me Twice by Meredith Duran
Gentle From the Night by Meagan McKinney
Gypsy Jewel by Patricia McAllister
Harcourt’s Mountain by Elaine Dodge
If You Dare, If You Desire and If You Deceive, MacCarrick Brothers trilogy by Kresley Cole
Lady Sophia’s Lover and Worth Any Price, the Bow Street Runners by Lisa Kleypas
Lord Edward’s Mysterious Treasure by Lillian Marek
Lord of the Far Island by Victoria Holt
Mine Till Midnight, Seduce Me at Sunrise, Tempt Me at Twilight, Married by Morning and Love in the Afternoon, Hathaway Series, by Lisa Kleypas
Mistress of Mellyn by Victoria Holt
On the Night of the Seventh Moon by Victoria Holt
Proof of Virtue by Leila Snow
Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley
September Moon by Candice Proctor
Silk and Shadows, Silk and Secrets and Veils of Silk, the Silk Trilogy by Mary Jo Putney
Sleep in the Woods by Dorothy Eden
Song for Sophia and The King of Threadneedle Street by Moriah Densley
Surrender the Night by Christine Monson
The Book of the Seven Delights and The Book of True Desires by Betina Krahn
The Duke of Shadows by Meredith Duran
The Last Bachelor by Betina Krahn
The Pride of the Peacock by Victoria Holt
The Scarlet Thread by Beck Lee Weyrich
The Secret Woman by Victoria Holt
The Time of the Hunter’s Moon by Victoria Holt
This Fiery Splendor by Christine Monson
Where the Horses Run by Kaki Warner

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Lillian Marek’s LORD EDWARD’S MYSTERIOUS TREASURE – Romance and Treasure Hunt in Victorian France

Set in Brittany in 1871, this is the story of Lord Edward Tremaine, an Englishman summoned to the Chateau Morvan on the coast of Brittany by his friend Antoine (Tony”) who claims there’s a treasure to find.

Ned travels to France where he discovers a strange collection of people. The old vicomte, who appears to be dying, insists Tony and his two cousins search for the treasure. One young cousin, Delphine, beautiful and captures Ned’s attention but, as time goes on, he notices there is something wrong with her. The other cousin, Marguerite, an accomplished pianist, appears stern and withdrawn. In truth, she worries about Delphine and providing for little family. Ned’s friend, Tony is worried about funding his steel factory and only seeks the treasure for what it can give him.

The story is well written but moves along rather slowly with a fair amount of repetition in motives and introspection. The romance between Ned and Marguerite develops only after he precipitously asks her to marry him. Marguerite is happy to share Ned’s bed but resists marriage because she is a commoner and he’s an aristocrat. (Ned and his family think nothing of it.) All that seemed a bit strange for the Victorian era.

The story picks up when a few secrets are revealed, Ned has an idea of how to find the treasure and his parents show up to find out what’s behind their son’s letters. All the threads come together for a satisfying end.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

The First Thanksgiving in America

The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth by Jennie Augusta Browncome

The first Thanksgiving was a harvest celebration held by the pilgrims of Plymouth colony in the 17th century.

The 53 pilgrims at the first Thanksgiving were the only colonists to survive the long journey on the Mayflower and the first winter in the New World. They included 22 men, four married women and more than 25 children and teenagers. These pilgrims made it through that first winter and, with the help of the local Wampanoag tribe, they had a hearty supply of food to sustain them through the next winter.

One of the pilgrims, Edward Winslow, stated:

“Our harvest being gotten in, our governor sent four men on fowling, that so we might after a special manner rejoice together, after we had gathered the fruits of our labors; they four in one day killed as much fowl, as with a little help beside, served the company almost a week, at which time amongst other recreations, we exercised our arms, many of the Indians coming amongst us, and amongst the rest their greatest king Massasoit, with some ninety men, whom for three days we entertained and feasted, and they went out and killed five deer, which they brought to the plantation and bestowed on our Governor, and upon the Captain and others. And although it be not always so plentiful, as it was at this time with us, yet by the goodness of God, we are so far from want, that we often wish you partakers of our plenty.”
 
One of these Indians, a young man named Squanto, spoke fluent English and had been appointed by Massasoit to serve as the pilgrim’s translator and guide. Squanto learned English prior to the pilgrim’s arrival after he was captured by English explorers and spent time in Europe as a slave.

 
The Continental Congress declared the first national Thanksgiving on December 18, 1777, and then in 1789, George Washington declared the last Thursday in November a national Thanksgiving as well.

I wish you all a wonderful time of gratitude, of being thankful for family, friends and for our country.

 

Monday, November 19, 2018

Christine Monson’s THIS FIERY SPLENDOR – An Exciting Victorian Romance set in India During the Rebellion of 1857

Christine Monson always does thorough research into the historical settings of her books and then serves up a great story. Such is This Fiery Splendor.

Annalise Devon was the daughter of a missionary to China where she was raised until her mother died. Then her father took her to India. It was there in that beautiful, mysterious land that she met and fell in love with Col. Derek Clavell, a wealthy aristocrat and an officer in the East India Company army. When her father suddenly dies, 17-year-old Annalise is made Derek’s ward by her father’s wishes. Then Derek is severely wounded in a battle at the Khyber Pass and must return to England.

In England, Annalise and Derek become lovers yet she knows he will never be hers. Not only does he have a beautiful fiancé, but he has just become his father’s heir to the title. She is just the poor daughter of a missionary. So she returns to India and finds a man who loves her…

Monson gives us some very exciting scenes as Derek pursues the woman he loves and he and Annalise are caught up in the Indian Rebellion of 1857, depicting the horror of the battles where civilians were killed along with the British and Sepoys. And in the midst of it, Derek’s fiancé shows up.

All the history is here, rich in detail. Great characters, well drawn and meaningful dialog. And more angst than you could want. You'll have to find it used but it's worth it. Highly recommended.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Emma Jensen’s Wonderful Trilogy of Spy Romances


ENTWINED: Wonderful 1st in Regency Spy Series!

This is the first in a trilogy of Regency romances that involves spies for England during the wars with France. There were 10 spies to begin with (“the Ten”). Some were nobility.

ENTWINED begins in 1810 in Lisbon, as Nathan Paget, Viscount Oriel, and one of the Ten, is discussing the situation in Europe with his close friend Gabriel Loudon, Lord Rievaulx, also a member of the Ten. Nathan is preparing to return to England the next day to wed a woman they both wanted. But the next morning, they are attacked and Nathan returns alone to his country home in Hertfordshire, his fiancé having changed her mind. A year later, he is still suffering from a sword wound to his thigh and attempting to live a normal, if secluded, life. Then Gerard, his former superior, arrives to tell him some of the Ten have been killed; he believes someone is killing the Ten one by one. He asks for Nathan’s help, urging him to return to London.

Meanwhile, a family of Scots from the Isle of Skye has moved into Nathan’s lands. He hires the father, James MacLeod, to be his secretary. Over the next 6 months, Nathan learns all about MacLeod’s five children, including the oldest, 25-year-old intelligent, plain Isobel, who keeps the family together. When James MacLeod steals a bag of gold coins from Nathan and Isobel tries to return it, Nathan meets the honest, candid and observant young woman. She realizes what no one else has—he is blind. (It wasn’t only his leg that was injured; he took a hit to the head.) Nathan decides he will trade Isobel’s father’s freedom and her family’s security for her. He wants her for more than his secretary, however.

The hero is a wonderful combination of warrior gentleman and brooding, wounded aristocrat. Noble and kind of heart, you can’t help but love him for loving Isobel’s character, which is honest and giving. There is something wildly attractive about a man who wants a woman from the first and never leaves off his pursuit of her. Isn’t that what we all want? The heroine, Isobel, is the caretaker for her family, dragging them out of one predicament or another. There isn’t anything she won’t do for them. And Nathan knows it. When offered the choice between continued poverty for them and perhaps jail for her father, and serving the strange Viscount Oriel, she chooses the latter.

Jensen writes very well and this fascinating story moves along at a good clip. I wasn’t half way through it when I was looking online for the rest in what I was sure had to be a series. I could only find two more of Jensen’s books that seemed to be related: FALLEN and MOONLIT, both written years after ENTWINED. (I have ordered them and will review them, too. If I find more in the series, I’ll amend this review to include them.)

I can recommend this book without reservation. I think you’ll like is as much as I did.

FALLEN: 2nd in the Regency Spy Series, a Scottish love story, does not disappoint!

As ENTWINED begins in 1810, Nathan and his close friend Gabriel Loudon, Earl of Rievaulx, both members of the Ten, are in Lisbon, discussing the situation in Europe as Nathan was preparing to leave for England. The next morning they are attacked; Nathan is severely wounded and Gabriel is believed killed. But Gabriel didn’t die, though he suffered a saber wound to his chest. Now it’s 1812, two years later, and Gabriel (nicknamed the Archangel by his peers) is back in London, a drunken wastrel at 32. But all is not lost. His friend, Nathan, has an assignment for him…to capture the leader of a ring of French spies, L’Ecossais, The Scot.

Gabriel travels to the Isle of Skye, looking for the French spy. There, he looks up Isobel’s family, the MacLeod’s, and meets Maggie, Isobel’s beautiful younger sister. Maggie is recovering from a broken heart…a love affair with an Englishman that did not end well.
In Isobel’s absence, Maggie has become the caretaker of her family, the father who drinks too much, the younger sister just coming into womanhood. Jensen portrays Maggie as a complex woman who, despite having loved and lost, gives of herself freely to all in need with her herbs and tisanes and salves. Like his friend, Nathan, Gabriel bears wounds from the war that aren’t visible. He seeks redemption for his failures that led to the death of others. I loved the dialog between them. It isn’t that usual lighthearted banter found in many Regency romances. It’s more meaningful.

Jensen weaves beautiful Scottish poetry, particularly the ballad “Scarbro Fair,” into the story and paints vivid pictures of the land of Skye…the heather covered mountainsides, the cliffs above the crashing sea…beautiful. It is not hard to imagine it. Her descriptions of the beautiful land of Scotland and the people of Skye set this Regency apart from so many others. Then, too, there is the deep emotion of two people who didn’t expect to find love and fear they will lose it. When they come together, it is heartrending and special.

Loved the book; loved the characters; love the series. Highly recommended.

MOONLIT, book 3, presents an amazing finish to an amazing trilogy. It’s the story of Viscount Trevor St. Wulfstan (another member of the Ten) and Nell Nolan.

Once, when she was a young girl in Ireland, Nell wished on the moon and looked into a mirror hoping to see a picture of the man who would one day be her lover. And she saw him. As a young man, his father beat Trevor so badly he remains scarred, both inside and out. Years later, both have grown up. Trevor is an impoverished Irish lord, who lives by his gambling and his work for the Crown. A member of the Ten, Trevor gets the assignments the others don’t want, the assassinations, for example. Now, someone is trying to kill him. Nell, now a widow named Mrs. Nolan, is staying in London only long enough to tie up a loose end: a British lord cheated her out of her husband’s pay owed him when he was killed in the war years ago. Because she cared for a Duke who was sick during his last years, everyone in the Ton assumes Nell was his mistress and she a courtesan. She won’t correct the impression, though false, because it serves her purpose. The Duke left her a wealthy woman but she wants her husband’s money for the principle, for his honor. Knowing nothing of this, Trevor decides he must have the notorious Mrs. Nolan. Neither shares the pain they carry nor the story of their past.

As with the two others in this trilogy, Jensen weaves a beautiful story with very real passions and hurts, in this case, children hurt by the sins of others. Her writing is wonderfully descriptive with no overly long introspection passages as some writers of romance engage in. It’s a well-told story. Her dialog is not mere banter, either, but meaningful conversations that bring you into the heart of the characters’ longings and fears. The love scenes are well placed and fit perfectly. Highly recommended.

My only regret is that Jensen stopped at three stories. The tales are so good, one could have hoped for a dozen. They are all related so read them in order—and don’t miss them!

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Best Historical Romance Trilogies


It takes talent to write a great historical romance novel, but to write three in a row and make them all worthy reads is a challenge. Of course, I recognize this omits some wonderful single titles and some great multibook series, but if you like to read trilogies, as I do, here’s my list of the top ones I recommend:

1.       Laurie McBain’s Dominick trilogy: MOONSTRUCK MADNESS, CHANCE THE WINDS OF FORTUNE and DARK BEFORE THE RISING SUN

2.       Virginia Henley’s Medieval Plantagenet trilogy: THE FALCON AND THE FLOWER, THE DRAGON AND THE JEWEL and THE MARRIAGE PRIZE

3.       Virginia Henley’s Medieval Plantagenet trilogy: THE FALCON AND THE FLOWER, THE DRAGON AND THE JEWEL and THE MARRIAGE PRIZE

4.       Brenda Joyce’s THE CONQUEROR, PROMISE OF THE ROSE and THE PRIZE

5.       Judith McNaught’s Westmoreland trilogy: A KINGDOM OF DREAMS, WHITNEY MY LOVE and UNTIL YOU

6.       Lisa Kelypas’ Bow Street Runners trilogy: SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME, LADY SOPHIA’S LOVER and WORTH ANY PRICE

7.       Johanna Lindsey’s Wyoming trilogy: BRAVE THE WILD WIND, SAVAGE THUNDER, and ANGEL

8.       Pamela Clare’s Blakewell/Kenleigh Family trilogy: SWEET RELEASE, CARNAL GIFT and RIDE THE FIRE

9.       Pamela Clare’s MacKinnon’s Rangers: SURRENDER, UNTAMED and DEFIANT

10.    Kaki Warner’s Runaway Brides trilogy:  HEARTBREAK CREEK, COLORADO DAWN and BRIDE of the HIGH COUNTRY

11.    Kaki Warner’s Blood Rose trilogy: PIECES OF SKY, OPEN COUNTRY and CHASING THE SUN

12.    Kaki Warner’s Heroes of Heartbreak Creek: BEHIND HIS BLUE EYES, WHERE THE HORSES RUN and HOME BY MORNING

13.    Heather Graham’s North American Woman trilogy: SWEET SAVAGE EDEN, A PIRATE'S PLEASURE and LOVE NOT A REBEL

14.    Heather Graham’s Civil War trilogy: ONE WORE BLUE, AND ONE WORE GRAY and AND ONE RODE WEST.

15.    Heather Graham’s Viking trilogy: GOLDEN SURRENDER, THE VIKING’S WOMAN and THE LORD OF THE WOLVES

16.    Marsha Canham’s Pirate Wolf trilogy: ACROSS A MOONLIT SEA, IRON ROSE and THE FOLLOWING SEA

17.    Marsha Canham’s Scottish trilogy: THE PRIDE OF LIONS, BLOOD OF ROSES AND MIDNIGHT HONOR

18.    Marsha Canham’s Robin Hood trilogy: THROUGH A DARK MIST, IN THE SHADOW OF MIDNIGHT and THE LAST ARROW

19.    Kresley Cole’s MacCarrick Brothers trilogy: IF YOU DARE, IF YOU DESIRE and IF YOU DECEIVE

20.    Iris Johansen’s Wind Dancer trilogy: THE WIND DANCER, STORM WINDS and REAP THE WIND

21.    Catherine Coulter’s Viking trilogy: LORD OF HAWKFELL ISLAND, LORD OF RAVEN’S PEAK and LORD OF FALCON RIDGE

22.    Shirl Henke’s Cheyenne trilogy: CAPTURE THE SUN, THE ENDLESS SKY, and SUNDANCER

23.    Shirl Henke’s Santa Fe trilogy: NIGHT WIND’S WOMAN, WHITE APACHE’S WOMAN and DEEP AS THE RIVERS

24.    Elizabeth Lowell’s Medieval trilogy: UNTAMED, FORBIDDEN and ENCHANTED

25.    Jennifer Blake’s Three Graces trilogy: BY HIS MAJESTY’S GRACE, BY GRACE POSSESSED and SEDUCED BY GRACE

26.    Lisa Jackson’s Medieval Welsh trilogy: ENCHANTRESS, KISS OF THE MOON and OUTLAW

27.    Lisa Jackson’s Medieval Welsh trilogy: IMPOSTRESS, TEMPTRESS and SORCERESS

28.    Mary Jo Putney’s Silk Trilogy: SILK AND SHADOWS, SILK AND SECRETS and VEILS OF SILK

29.    Susan King’s Medieval Maiden trilogy: THE SWAN MAIDEN, THE STONE MAIDEN and the SWORD MAIDEN

30.    Mary Wine’s Highlander trilogy: TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER, HIGHLAND HELLCAT and HIGHLAND HEAT

31.    Connie Brockway’s Scottish trilogy: THE PASSIONATE ONE, THE RECKLESS ONE and THE RAVISHING ONE

32.    Laura Parker’s Rose trilogy: ROSE OF THE MISTS, A ROSE IN SPLENDOR, and THE SECRET ROSE

33.    Emma Jensen’s Regency Spy trilogy: ENTWINED, FALLEN and MOONLIT

34.    Renee Vincent’s Emerald Isle trilogy: RALIKSEN, MAC LIAM and THE FALL OF RAIN

35.    Tina St. John’s Warrior trilogy: WHITE LIONS LADY, BLACK LION’S BRIDE and LADY OF VALOR.

36.    Amy J. Fetzer’s Irish trilogy: THE IRISH PRINCESS, THE IRISH ENCHANTRESS and THE IRISH KNIGHT

37.    Laurel McKee’s Daughters of Erin trilogy: COUNTESS OF SCANDAL, DUCHESS OF SIN and LADY OF SEDUCTION

38.    Christine Dorsey’s trilogy: THE RENEGADE (first published as THE RENEGADE AND THE ROSE), THE REBEL and THE ROGUE

39.    Judith E. French’s Fortune trilogy: FORTUNE'S MISTRESS, FORTUNE'S FLAME and FORTUNE'S BRIDE

40.    Aleen Malcolm’s Cameron trilogy: THE TAMING, RIDE OUT THE STORM and THE DAUGHTERS OF CAMERON

41.    Sandra Worth’s The Rose of York trilogy (Richard III’s life and love): LOVE AND WAR, THE CROWN OF DESTINY and FALL FROM GRACE


And do consider my own award-winning Donet Trilogy: TO TAME THE WIND, ECHO IN THE WIND and A FIERCE WIND… Georgian romances featuring handsome ship captains and following closely the historical events unfolding in the late 18th century with wonderful love stories.