Tuesday, November 3, 2015

New Review: The Rose Trilogy by Laura Parker

Today I’m featuring Laura Parker’s Rose trilogy: Rose of the Mists, A Rose in Splendor and The Secret Rose, wonderful stories from Ireland.

Rose of the Mists is the first in this well-told trilogy. All of the stories feature a heroine who bears a birthmark somewhere on her body in the shape of a rose. The birthmark comes with the unique ability to see visions of the future.

Set in Ireland in 1569, this is the story of Meghan O’Neill, a girl who has a rose birthmark on her face that makes the peasants fear her for a witch. One day, while in the woods, she saves Sir Revelin Butler from drowning. 

Revelin, though Irish and from the aristocratic Butler family, is on a commission from England’s queen to chart Ireland with three other men. Revelin has plans to marry Lady Alison Burke but after he encounters Meghan, he wants only to find the mysterious girl who fled after rescuing him.

Parker recreates the world of 16th century Ireland with great period dialog, worthy characters and wonderful descriptions of the beauty of Ireland. I felt like I was there.

I loved the hero and heroine and their coming together. Revelin struggles to find his true destiny—and his true love. Other characters contributed to the exciting read. It has some great action scenes that will have you biting your nails.

I recommend all three in the Rose trilogy:

Rose of The Mists – set in 1569
A Rose in Splendor – set in 1691
The Secret Rose – set in 1844


No comments:

Post a Comment