Sunday, January 20, 2013

Candice Proctor (aka C.S. Harris and C.S. Graham) - Favorite Author of Australian (and other) Historical Romances

You’ve seen her name on my “best” lists many times for she’s a favorite of mine. Candice Proctor, aka C.S. Harris (mysteries) and C.S. Graham (thrillers), is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than a dozen novels and seven historical romances. Her books have been translated into over twenty different languages.
In addition to her works of fiction, she is also the author of a nonfiction historical study of women in the French Revolution, Women, Equality and the French Revolution (1990).

Candice graduated Phi Beta Kappa, summa cum laude with a degree in Classics before going on to earn an MA and Ph.D. in history. (Wow!) A former academic, she has taught at the University of Idaho and Midwestern State University in Texas. She also worked as an archaeologist on a variety of sites including a Hudson's Bay Company Fort in San Juan Island, a Cherokee village in Tennessee, a prehistoric kill site in Victoria, Australia, and a Roman cemetery and medieval manor house in Winchester, England. She spent many years as a partner in an international business consulting firm.

The daughter of a career Air Force officer and university professor (along with her sister and another favorite of mine, Penelope Williamson), Proctor loves to travel and has spent much of her life abroad. She has lived in Spain, Greece, England, France, Jordan, and Australia. She now makes her home in New Orleans, Louisiana.

"I like to write about strong women," says Candice, "women who sometimes aren't even aware of their own strength but discover it when tested by life. And I make certain my heroines end up with the kind of men they deserve-- honorable men, men who can be both gentle and strong, who never lose their sense of humor and don't feel threatened by a strong woman."

Historical romances (written as Candice Proctor):

Night in Eden, 1997
The Bequest, 1998
September Moon, 1999
The Last Knight, 2000 [available as eBook]
Whispers of Heaven, 2001
Midnight Confessions, 2002 [available as eBook]
Beyond Sunrise, 2003 [available as eBook]

Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, Regency Mystery Series (written as C.S. Harris):

What Angels Fear, 2005
When Gods Die, 2006
Why Mermaids Sing, 2007
Where Serpents Sleep, 2008
What Remains of Heaven, 2009
Where Shadows Dance, 2011
When Maidens Mourn, 2012
What Darkness Brings, March 2013

Thrillers (CS Graham):

The Archangel Project
The Solomon Effect
The Babylonian Codex

Join me next Wednesday, January 30th, as Candice will be here to answer my questions and yours, too! One lucky commenter will receive her newest book What Darkness Brings before it's released!

1 comment:

  1. I love her writing in all it's various forms.