Friday, November 13, 2015

Kresley Cole’s MacCarrick Brothers trilogy

Kresley Cole only wrote 5 historical romances before she went off to another genre but those 5 are all great stories. And her Scottish trilogy is one of my favorites. Cole weaves intriguing tales of three brothers and the women they come to love. The MacCarrick brothers now have my heart.

It begins with a five hundred-year-old "curse," the writing of which was obscured so that no one really knows how it ends. Cole does her homework on the historical setting--it feels authentic--and she makes you fall in love with Scotland and it's men. She gives them a Scottish personality that is hard not to love.

These three brothers are sexy and strong and pursue their women with a passion.  

If You Dare is the first book… Set in 1856 in the Pyrenees, the mountains between France and Spain, a group of mercenaries led by Courtland MacCarrick wages war for General Pascal. When Court turns on the evil general, Pascal orders him killed and Court narrowly escapes, ending up half dead on the doorstep of Lady Annalia Llorente, Pascal’s fiancé.

Court decides to abduct Annalia for leverage. A beautiful Castilian, Lady Annalía Llorente despises her towering, barbaric captor almost as much as she does her fiancé. But then she begins to be attracted to Court. Still, she must wed Pascal to save her brother. Then there’s this curse that keeps Court from claiming the woman he wants, believing it will cause her death.

There are many twists and turns in these stories that will have you reading way past your bedtime. And while I love all three of them, the last is my favorite, the story of the oldest brother, Ethan. Cole brought the three stories to a very satisfying end. 

Buy on Amazon.

Book 2
Book 3

The MacCarrick Brothers trilogy:

If You Dare (Court)
If You Desire (Hugh)
If You Deceive (Ethan)

No comments:

Post a Comment